In many places, prison are overcrowded and expensive for government to maintain. Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while later. Does prison work? should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished?

In our contemporary life, prisons are one of the manifold solutions that constitute a vital role in justice execution. Nevertheless, it is relatively apparent that the images of packed jails and even prohibitively expensive ones are not rare anymore. Additionally, when prisoners’ sentences come to an expiration date, they are found back on this sinful path quickly after being given a chance to reintegrate. Accordingly, I reckon the effectiveness of prisons has been decreased, however, every lawbreaker should be forgiven by offering a chance to rehabilitate. First and foremost, facing the reality of overcrowded jails, prisoners are actually in need of supervision, fundamental facilities, and private space. Accordingly, the more interaction they have with other criminals, the more likelihood they found fascination without any regret in committing a sin. Under this circumstance, immoral plans will be formed and executed with ease. On the other hand, in this modern era, prisons’ maintenance tends to be costly for governments’ budgets, hence the living conditions in general do not meet lawbreakers’ basic daily needs due to the lack of plans for sanitation and modernization. From my perspective, jails are no longer optimal since both the need for strict supervision order and better living conditions are still missing. Conversely, despite several shortages belonging to prisons, I strongly believe criminals should be provided with care and humane treatment in order to stimulate their desire to enhance their characteristics. No one was born with the instinct of a devil with brutal and immoral gestures, thus they do not deserve to be treated unequally or punished straight away. Even though sentences must depend on the level of cruelty, a second chance would not be wasted if brighter sides of perpetrators are disclosed. In conclusion, I utterly approve that prisoners will not be optimal if they are not well-maintained in diverse aspects, namely sanitation, supervision orders, and facilities. Moreover, instead of executing death penalties or intense punishments, sinners should be rehabilitated and reintegrated in order to cause sincere aspirations for a normal life in each of them.