Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or assault, should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a crime issue related to whether young people should be punished as adults' way when they commit serious crimes has been widely discussed. Some argue that no matter youth and adults should be punished equally. As far as equality and personality are concerned, I strongly hold that young people should be punished slightly though they commit some serious crimes. To begin with, undergrowth people cannot fully undertake the responsibilities legislatively. Their psychological growth and sense of value are not completed. The main problem is that their parents do not discipline them appropriately. In addition, youth is very malleable so they could be educated well easily. Also, their talents have not been exploited fully because of young age, we should not admonish their promisings in future. For instance, a young person may become a scientist or a doctor whose life trend may be changed because of the harsh punishment. It is undeniable that punishing criminals slightly is unequal to victims. However, punishment does not only do harm to young criminals but also is useless for victims. Young criminals should be well-advised to support additional services to victims in order to lighten their punishment. For example, the court can imply them to help victims with housework or support unpaid social services. According to their performance, their punishment could be alternated. What is more, victims also get benefits from that. In conclusion, youth should not be punished in the same way as adults. Instead, they should be approved to lighten their punishment by compensating the victims which is beneficial to the two sides.