Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that men and women should have the same educational opportunities. However, I do not agree with the idea of accepting equal numbers of male and female students in every university subject. This essay will explain why admitting the equal proportions of each gender in every major is impractical. First, having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply unrealistic. Student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with e qual number of males and females, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In reality, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty p ercent of places are needed to go to males. Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I believe that it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. Universities should continue to select the best candidates a ccording their qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it would be wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer qualifications. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.