Cultures around the world today are more similar than they used to be. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more attention has been placed on the opinion that cultural similarity increasingly becomes popular around the globe. There are some possible reasons for this phenomenon, and I believe that this tendency is an advantage. To begin with, some compelling reasons can be seen for homogeneity in culture. Firstly, there is an increasing number of travelers who tend to visit foreign countries, which leads to the cultures of countries becoming alike. Indeed, traveling in foreign countries becomes much easier, which causes culture exchanges, bringing new cultures and absorbing native cultures. Secondly, technological breakouts, especially in information technology such as Internet access speed improving quickly, leads to cultural information becoming more popular. To be more specific, easier Internet access makes connections between multi- cultures where the Internet users get to know the cultural information via media channels such as Youtube, Facebook, and Televisions. Take my father as an example, he stays at home but could know the famous traditional foods of Korea via browsing Facebook every day. In my opinion, I believe that cultural homogeneity of countries around the world is beneficial, which affects both business and society fields. Regarding business, the similarities promote job opportunities for developing countries. In fact, international companies could expand their business by opening new branches in developing countries because local workers could understand behaviors and mindset of mother companies. Take Apple as an example, they open AppStore branches in big cities in Vietnam and rent local representatives who could understand business culture in order to create an effective comprehension between local customers and products from the foreign company. In terms of entire societies around the globe, due to understanding behaviors and mindsets of different cultures, people in the whole world could sympathize and understand feelings together. For further explanation, similar thinking could make people who work and live in foreign countries easily eat the same foods and wear the same clothes. Consequently, they could feel closer and do not face obstacles in foreign nations. In conclusion, cultural similarities becoming popular are the result of traveling habits and evolution in information technology in this modern life, and I would argue that this is a positive impact because it generates job opportunities and makes people in the world feel sympathy and closer.