Some people say that it is the responsibility of individuals to save money for their own care after they retire. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An often-debated topic is whether it is the responsibility of others to financially support elderly people or individuals themselves should have saved money for their retirement. In my opinion, being a farsighted person is very crucial in this society. However, governments and other community members should also give a hand in this regard to elderly people. In the following paragraphs, I would justify my support in this regard. Back then it was a convention that the last -born son should stay with his family after marriage. He was responsible for the financial support of the family, and his wife was responsible for doing chores and taking care of other family members. As a result, nobody was concerned about their future. But the situation has been changing differently, and today, children become self-centred. They do not want to sacrifice their comfort for taking care of their parents. So, for this reason, people should be concerned about their forthcoming and try not to be dependent on others. Looking forward to financially help from governments also should not make a person close their eyes to the reality due to the fact that the situation and legislation of a country are always changing so no one knows what going to happen in the future. On the other hand, governments should invest more in practices that are helpful for the aged population. Some basic amenities could be free for them to make sure they could survive without any other income. We should not forget that elderly people were a fruitful tree for our society some days, and try to support them in all aspects to make their lives convenient. To conclude, considering a part of the income as saving for the future could be a rational step. However, the government also has its own responsibility regarded to this matter.