Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current modern world, because of a highly competitive market, advertising is one the largest industries which helps other businesses to grow their share of the market. In my opinion, advertisements influence potential customers in two different ways. First, to persuade them to buy new products which they do not know about. Second, to change their opinion about the brand of the goods which they really need to buy. On the one hand, some people are not aware of the solutions available for their needs. One of the important roles of the advertising industry is to introduce new products, being unavailable once, whereby people’s hidden desires could be satisfied. For instance, if someone has a problem with chopping potatoes for cooking and a new tool has been produced to do this in a faster and safer way, he will not know about it without being exposed to advertisements. On the contrary, some purchases are initially planned by the customers. Take daily consumer products as an instance, people usually know what they need for their meal. In this case, the role of advertisement is to persuade them to buy a different brand, by giving more information and emphasizing the features. They often do this using a variety of techniques such as hiring billboards, producing short footage and offering discounts. All in all, although the majority of people know about their needs for shopping, advertising can introduce them to new kinds of goods and influence their decision about the make and brand they have chosen to buy.