Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage dose plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays companies have been using increasingly plastic packs for all types of foods and objects. Nevertheless, it is scientifically proved that it has already caused some negative changes in the environment, especially in the sea and it will even more in the long-term. What follows is detailing some of these effects and how we and the government could help. Firstly, when you throw something away in your trash, it might end up in a river and consequently, go to the ocean. So it will spread and take hundreds of years to decompose. For example, a bottle of soda can remain in nature for around 400 years if not correctly discarded. Besides, probably next time you will need a new one. And not only you but thousands of people, entering into a never-ending cycle of accumulating harmful substances in nature. Secondly, this polymer will break down into smaller particles that are not visible to the naked eye, however, they have disastrous consequences. These small particles will probably end up being eaten by animals. Every year, plenty of fishes and birds die from having more plastic in their stomachs than they are able to eliminate. Also, it absorbs toxic substances contained in the water. For example, a salmon will ingest particles that contain heavy metals and when they are consumed, it may cause intoxication and even death. Lastly, to reduce these impacts mentioned, governments should initiate actions, such as subside the use of biodegradable substances, reduce taxes for green companies, create recycling programs and try to make people conscious of the result of their lifestyle. Furthermore, each individual can do simple things, for example, go with their own reusable bag to the market, recycle their garbage and opt for products with less plastic packaging. To conclude, everyone could benefit from reusing and recycling more what we already have, with small adjustments to our routine we would spare many animals and people from suffering, in addition to being able to eat high-quality seafood and help with the balance of the environment. Therefore, the government could help a lot to make those ideas more popular and encourage everyone to support this cause.