The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over: What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

There is no doubt that these days birth percentage in many developed nations are declining. The question is, what consequences will happen if these rates remain to decrease for the next fifty years, and what solutions could be established to avoid this falling. In terms of effects, when the number of births will decrease it will affect economic growth. The main reason to support this claim is that the country will not have a young workforce to fulfil the need; by this dilemma, the country financial growth will decline and fall. For instance, a public speaker once said that “a country without youth and qualified society will fall significantly unless they adopt a youth and innovative individual’s”. Thus, a low childbirth rate can cause a slow economic expansion and deterioration of the country. Also, by reduction of the childbirth count, the senior community will be dominant in the country and dependent on the government, which will strain the government budget. However, to deal with this situation, the government could give a wage for each parent per child. By this suggestion, parents will have more children, and through this birth, the percentage will increase. For example, many countries in the gulf area provide money to the parents for each extra child they have; to increase the population growth. Consequently, supporting the guardians with money for each baby will boost the population rate. Furthermore, the following solution is to eliminate obstacles to marriage. Through this, many individuals will get married easily without high costs and burdens, and hence raise the birth proportion. In conclusion, it is evident that a high number of developed countries are threatened by low birth rates over the next fifty years, and the figure of elderly individuals will rise. Governments must ensure steps are taken to prevent this phenomenon from deteriorating future.