Should Government make a decision about people’s lifestyle or should people make their own decisions?

Some people argue that the ministry should decide how other people should live their lives, while others think people should decide for themselves. Although the ministry can enforce laws and punishments that are important for maintaining a healthy and safe society, it is up to the individual person to decide for themselves how they want to live their lives. The states make sure the society is safe and healthy by enforcing laws and punishments. When citizens do not obey these, they get punished, which prevents others from being rebellious. Adolescents should not drink alcohol as that would damage their health and cause addiction. They are also more prone to start narcotics when they are abusing alcohol. The state can prevent this phenomenon by making it against the law to buy alcohol when younger than eighteen years old. Although the ministry can impact people ’s lifestyle by laws and punishments, it is important for people to make their own choices about how they want to live their own lives. It is impossible for the policy-makers to know how the various individuals prefer to behave, dress, work, and live. Dictating how people should live is impossible as only the person itself knows best what lifestyle they want. If people are not left to decide how they want to live, tension and conflict may result in that county. For example, some states ruled by Islamic leaders, have strict rules saying that every citizen should believe in Muhammed as the true God, and dress in a specific way. It is however always a part of the population that disagrees with this belief, which results in tension and conflicts. This is indeed the case in many Islamic countries. To conclude, although the states can make laws and punishments to keep their citizens as healthy and safe as possible, it is up to the person itself to make their own choices as that is analogue with freedom, peace, and tranquillity of the country.