The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. Do you believe that the advantages of increasing tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent decades, many various factors have made international travel easier and many countries have, therefore, developed their tourism industries into key sectors of their economies. While it is clear that tourism brings obvious benefits to the countries that host tourists, I still believe that it may bring more important disadvantages as well. On the one hand, I concede that there are some benefits that tourism brings to a country. First, tourism creates many job places for those who are unemployed. Obviously, a thriving tourist industry implies an increasing need for a variety of services such as hotels, transport, restaurants, and entertainment. This results in a considerable number of jobs being created for people who lack a college education, thereby having more people be hired. Furthermore, tourism is a "green" industry that, unlike factories, generates a low level of pollution. In fact, because beautiful natural landscapes are often places that tourists come to see, a country will often be sure to maintain the landscape in order to keep it attractive for tourists. This of course leads to the protection of natural monuments. However, despite the benefits, I feel that there are more significant aspects of tourism that may prove harmful to a country. One of them is that it still is a country that may suffer from the loss of its traditional culture. This is caused by people in a country changing their lifestyle, customs, and language in order to more effectively serve visitors or because they become influenced by foreign countries. This can cause stress in a traditional society and could even lead to animosity towards tourists. In addition, the crime rate can increase. Because tourists often carry expensive objects like cameras and are unaware of their surroundings, they make good targets for theft. Crime also increases as a result of the increases in drugs and prostitution that caters to some vacationers. In conclusion, although global tourism is greatly beneficial to an economy and environment of a country, it can be detrimental in the case of crime rate and loss of tradition. Therefore, I think that the drawbacks of tourism outweigh its advantages.