Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing interest in decision-making in children. Many people argue that granting younger individuals the freedom to make decisions may lead to a population that only considers their personal desires, whereas others believe it is crucial to make choices in areas that directly affect them. In this essay, I will analyse both perspectives and delineate my own opinion, supported with relevant examples. On one hand, one essential reason children should not be allowed to make every decision is that it may encourage selfish behaviour in the long run. By this, I mean when individuals grow with the privilege of having everything as desired, they become accustomed to it. They most often mature believing situations must definitely go their way, hence prioritise their opinions in various areas like partnership, work, family, etc. This personality problem negatively affects their collaboration with other people. For example, research conducted in Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria, had shown that most business owners who faced major financial losses at some point failed to consider fundamental ideas from employees. Further survey confirmed they shared a similar upbringing. On the other hand, it is imperative to proactively make future life choices even at a younger age, especially regarding a career path. It is because a career chosen by oneself without coercion or external influence fosters success. That is, when one decides based on personal interest, more often than not, the individual has the required motivation, resilience, determination and passion to ensure career prospects. For instance, in 2017, a study was conducted within medical schools across Ukraine. The data obtained corroborates the above-mentioned view. When asked about their motivation, more than three-quarters of the best students confirmed that they were driven by a personal desire to be medical doctors. In conclusion, I believe children ought to make vital decisions about their future independently, whilst also ensuring other areas requiring external opinion are met accordingly. This way, we can effectively avoid breeding adults with a self-centred personality, while preserving their chosen career paths.