Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some propose that the governments should rather carry out and control the scientific research instead of the private companies. Although it is important that scientific research is controlled by governments, I disagree and instead think it is also significant that private companies should get the freedom to carry out some research. On the one hand, if scientific research is only carried out by the government, they can guarantee the quality of the research. As there will be just one government agency who follows the rules, which are stated by the ministry. In addition, they also have better contact with people working for the government. For example, if the outcome of a scientific research study is that there is bird disease in a region, then they can easily report this to the government. This can ensure that measurements are taken faster. However, it is also important that there are academics who work for private companies so that/because there are different perspectives on a specific topic. In addition, each private company has its own method of doing research. This can lead to a variety of outcomes to one subject, which is also important. For instance, during the covid pandemic, different private companies worked on making a vaccine against the virus and because of the different methods each company followed, they developed a formula for the vaccine faster/quickly. If they just followed one method which was carried out by the government, it would have taken longer. In conclusion, despite the fact that the quality of research is guaranteed when it is carried out by the government, private companies are also important for generating different perspectives