Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that adolescents should do volunteer community work during their leisure time as it may be beneficial to them and society as well. I tend to agree with this statement, as in my view the best way to develop the sense of community among teenagers is to give them the opportunity to observe others reality practically. Furthermore, the community would be benefited from new ideas or projects from the teenagers. To begin with, adolescents usually learn from the environment that they live and neighbourhoods works may help younger people to receive the greatest work experience from building at least a sense of community and empathy to others. Because they will have the opportunity to observe others reality from a practical and different perspective. Moreover, as the teenagers are doing unpaid work, they probably will not have time to spend with the wrong crowd. For instance, in the neighbourhood where I grew up many of my friends change their behaviour after community work as they could see the consequences of alcohol and drugs. Furthermore, not only the teenagers would have gained from community work, but the community as well. Once the adolescents could bring ideas or create new projects with subjects that they have learned from schools, such as ecological ideas, musical class or even finance management. It certainly would help the community and adolescents development. In addition, children and adolescents who live in the community where the work is carried will have an example to be inspired, a person who in the majority of time achieved success through work and study. To sum up, charity through unpaid work is one of the best ways to develop the community and adolescents as both of them can learn from each other. Adolescents can develop their sense of community and empathy and the community can be benefited from the help they received.