Health experts claim that walking is the best exercise. However, people are walking less on a daily basis. What has made it happen and how to deal with this?

It is often stated that health is the most essential part of human survival, and one of the best ways to maintain our health is by exercising. Despite it being recommended by health experts to walk as the best exercise, some people tend to walk less in everyday life. In this essay, I would like to elaborate on some reasons and solutions for this case further in the following paragraphs. In terms of reasoning, one of many causes that made this happen is the enhancement of transportation technology. The impact of vehicles such as cars, bikes, trains, and even aeroplanes, creates huge mobility of public effortlessly. As an example, in the past, our ancestors needed to walk hundreds to thousands of miles to reach one destination to another whereas these days society can easily arrive without walking at all. Another possible reason for this issue is that numerous individuals today prefer to choose a job that requires less physical activity. In other words, in the past, practical work that required strong physic such as farming or labour contractions were seen as prestigious occupations. Meanwhile, nowadays, there is a term as a blue-collar job that views people who work physically less preferable in the society. As a result, the cutting-edge of mode transportation technology and white-collar professional preference could indirectly impact the less mobility of the population to use their own feet. However, there are numerous solutions to offer, such as being more conscious of our well-being, which could subsequently increase our quality of life. As well as surrounding ourselves with people who live healthily. Indeed, the answer depends on one’s self. Nonetheless, we need to remind ourselves that being healthy is the most expensive thing to have, hence, bounding ourselves with a nation that aims for living well could increase our motivation to walk more in our everyday life. In conclusion, although technology advancement and white-collar preference in selecting less physical jobs could be the causes of declining walking intensity among the community, yet being more aware and bounding ourselves with healthy surroundings would possibly be great alternatives.