The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, governments are trying their best approach to improve safety. While some groups said that there should be strict punishments for offences and that is the only option to enhance road safety. I totally agree with this statement because this will teach them a valuable lesson and also let them understand the importance of their and someone's life. Firstly, as said by someone that punishments are necessary to let someone obey the rules and because that the only way they can learn the valuable lesson. This is the best way to let them understand that money power doesn't matter if the government decide to stop an accident and increase the safety of people. For example, The UK government implemented a law that if any crosses the decided limit they have to face consequences which basically start from the minimal amount of charges to the death penalty this is all because they want to stop this and enhance road safety. So with,that they fear to cross the limit which was implemented by the officials. Secondly, with the strict penalties may they get the knowledge and understand the meaning of life. This is because they are driving fast because that way they can impress someone but sometimes they may lose own but they may put someone else life in danger too. So if a person or their loved one tell them the importance of life then maybe stop doing that and do safe driving for the betterment of themselves and also for others too. For instance, the officials started holder with advertisements to let people teach the value of life and how much they are worth in this world. To conclude, I strongly agree with this notion because it basically helps them to learn many lessons and also guide in the right path through their loved one than maybe they learn the value of life.