Nowadays cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar, as compared to the past. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Throughout the ages the differences between national cultures remain stable. It was determined, in my opinion, to a large degree by the relative geographical isolation and the absence of broad cultural communications. I will try to consider the reasons and consequences of this process below. During all human history, from the times of national emergence to nowadays, there have been being certain circumstances, determining the cultural development of the distinct countries. These circumstances depended on the historical background and geographical location of certain groups of people. For example European art tradition every time distinguishes from art traditions of people of the Far East like Chinese and Japanese art. We can say this concerning architecture, poetry, cooking and other areas of culture. Relatively huge geographical distance and the absence of broad cultural communications did not let these cultures approach over the centuries. On the other hand, geographical barriers have enabled cultures to form in their own way, which we can see nowadays. However, the tendency of the recent century is globalisation. Thanks to this process the cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar. I think that there are advantages and disadvantages to this trend. The major advantage is the increasing cultural broadcast, making both cultures richer. But the disadvantage of this process is the gradual disappearance of cultural features, which will eventually lead humanity to one global culture, which will be undoubtedly poorer than the aggregate of all previous cultures. In conclusion, although broad cultural exchange makes some cultures richer and lets them spread widely, globalisation can lead to the disappearing of some cultural features in the future and even some cultures.