In many places, shopping is the leisure time activity for young adults. Why is it so? Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

Many teenagers prefer to spend their free time shopping. This is because this activity lowers their stress level and satisfies their sense of confidence. I, however, believe that this preference wastes their time and money. Going shopping in their spare time, the young feel less stressed since they will be distracted from their challenges. For example, when I was a university student, at weekends, I used to go purchase new T-shirts to get relief because when I wanted to decide what to buy, I completely forgot about what I was concerned about. This activity also increases the confidence level of this age group because it allows them to make a choice for themselves without relying on their parents. This habit, however, prevents young adults from spending their time and money efficiently. The process of buying merchandise requires extensive time and effort since it includes hours to commute to malls, select items and wait in long lines to make payments. This long process limits the time youngsters can allocate to constructive activities such as reading books and exercising, which in the long run, results in the underdevelopment of many skills that should be acquired at this age. This type of leisure activity, moreover, wastes their financial resources as it encourages them to buy unnecessary items. I clearly remember when I calculated the amount of money I had spent on buying T-shirts at university, I came to know that I could have used that money to replace my laptop with a new one. In conclusion, although spending free time shopping is what many teenagers do, I believe this is not a productive way of doing so as it slows their progress in the future