Nowadays in many countries, people are following the latest fashion, hairstyles and so on. Why are they so influenced by fashion? Is it a positive or a negative development?

The fashion industry has a significant impact on how people choose their attire because it uses famous celebrities to promote new products. In my opinion, however, this is a negative phenomenon as it increases the living cost and limits individuals' ability to decide freely. To maximize their effects on people, fashion designers use superstars whom people adore, advertising their merchandise. As a result, individuals who like to imitate famous models are encouraged to purchase from these brands. For instance, Adidas has employed famous football player, Cristiano Ronaldo, to advertise its new sports shoes. As a consequence, this player's fans around the world tend to buy from this brand, which has almost doubled its sale. This illustrates how the fashion industry manipulates customers to buy new items by using the popularity of well-known characters. However, the trend to follow the latest fashion models has several negative consequences. The first drawback of buying brand models is that they are usually more expensive than their counterparts, putting financial pressure on customers. For example, the average price for sports shoes is around 50 dollars in Canada, while Adidas shoes cannot be bought for less than 75 dollars. So if a customer wants to buy what is advertised by Cristiano Ronaldo, he should spend almost 50 per cent more out of pocket. In addition, when people follow fashion trends for their clothes, they confine their freedom to decide how they appear, because they cannot select their attire according to their requirements and comfort. In conclusion, although fashion has a major impact on how people dress, it imposes economic pressure on them and limits their freedom to decide.