According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

In this cut-throat competitive business world, the internet plays a vital role in everyone’s life. It is evident that people are spending an ample amount of time on the internet, and thus spending less time with a real human. Some segments of society reckon that there is another way to do communication rather than the internet as it has a detrimental effect on social interaction. Although there are arguments on both sides, due to my personal beliefs I agree that. These beliefs will be discussed in support of my personal stance in the following paragraphs. To embark on, there is no doubt for some people who supported to use the internet. They believe that it is an easy way to communicate with people across the globe as it was intricate a decade ago. Moreover, there are several ways, ranging from mobile phones, Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp to E-mail can be used in professional aspects as well as personal uses. To further corroborate the above view, a Harvard Alumni study (2012) revealed that seventy per cent of businesses are succeeding because of cyberspace communication. Hence, such basic usage of the internet has changed the world dramatically. Why internet has a negative impact on social interaction? The underlying reason behind this is that people especially the younger generation, spend plentiful time online, chatting with friends and on forums and, as a result, they are not able to focus on their education and carrier. Furthermore, if society is spending most of the time with the internet and not mixing with their neighbourhoods, it would have an adverse effect on local communities. For instance, one recent study conducted by a health research centre confirmed that eighty per cent of the public suffered from eye fatigue disease due to excess usage of the internet. The more online follow-up, the more harmful effect. In conclusion, although there are various benefits to do communication via the internet, I would say that the enormous use of the internet may give harmful effects on communities. That is why I opine that the disadvantages of using the internet clearly outweigh the importance of the internet.