In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, plastic bags are used extensively, which wastes are the main reason of water and land pollution. This is argued that prohibition of plastic bags usage may be an approach to address this issue. This essay will discuss the positive aspects and effects of this opinion. Firstly, most of the people dispose of shopping plastic bags after just using them once. This leads to a great demand for producing more plastic bags, which is detrimental to the environment. To put it more simply, a great proportion of plastic bags are not reused or even recycled, so they are thrown into the natural environment, which pollutes the land and water. Therefore, there should be some restrictions on plastic bags consumption. In the north of Iran, for instance, most of the cows feed on the waste of plastic bags which are thrown in the fields, resulting in various diseases for both cows and residents. If there were appropriate regulations on prohibiting plastic bags utilization, this issue would not come up. On the other hand, banning plastic bags usage would change the habit of purchasing non-environmentally friendly products. To illustrate, in the case of not consuming plastic bags people should substitute another way for carrying shoppings, so they get used to finding an environmentally friendly way to eliminate other harmful products. For example, bags which are made of cloth can be used instead of plastic ones. They are reusable and have no harm to the environment, so by obliging people to change their lifestyle they would extend this behavior to the other aspects of their lives, such as not using personal cars. To conclude, according to all I mentioned above consumption of plastic bags should be limited so the harms to the environment would be curbed, also people would change their none-environmentally friendly lifestyle.