Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Voluntary work can bring numerous benefits for students, such as improving their soft skills, which will help them easily manage tasks in their careers subsequently. In addition, it will help students appreciate more values in their lives. Therefore, in my opinion, high school programs should include volunteerism as a part of their education.   If students participate in community work, they will have opportunities to meet people of different ages, genders, and even cultures. As a result, communication is one of the first skills they learn to get along with the other volunteers. And to get tasks done well, they will learn to cooperate with people and to deal with difficult situations, from which they will gain teamwork skills and problem-solving skills. When helping people, they will see how hard it is for the disabled to overcome their disabilities or how the homeless children wish for a happy home, leading to more awareness of money and labour. Moreover, they will realise they are lucky when they have parents who support them not only physically but also emotionally. So they should show more respect and love for them.   Admittedly, there are some negatives to volunteering; for example, it is time-consuming, does not earn money, and volunteering abroad may lead to homesickness. Nevertheless, students can choose suitable times and distances to join in, as one positive experience could change their outlook on life.   To sum up, taking part in unpaid community work brings young people various knowledge of the real world and life skills, which help them mature and know how to tackle personal issues well.