Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of how much information should be shared for scientific study, business, and academic research have sparked off an intense debate. Many believe that it is a spectacular idea to disseminate information as much as possible, whereas others argue that some data seems too dangerous to be purveyed. However, I strongly feel about sharing information freely except in a few cases where national security is concerned. Proponents of sharing information freely go on to argue that data ought to be circulated to the full for the sake of sustaining progress. In simple words, sharing knowledge paves the way for discoveries. Covid-19 is a case in point. Many kinds of research are being conducted by scientists across the world, working in collaboration with each other so as to invent a vaccine as soon as possible. This also applies to the business world, which can work together to develop new products, as well as academics, who need to put new information into previous perspectives in order to broaden their knowledge and complete new groundbreaking works. On the contrary, people who find sharing data dangerous, believe that it could pose threats to state security. They go on to argue that governments should not share classified information, which may hamper global peace. For example, classified documents relating to nuclear technology bring our earth to the verge of destruction if any ferocious terrorist group can access these documents. Similarly, many companies are reluctant to share knowledge. This is because that information can stifle their commercial interest. For instance, if a company discloses its product formula, then the information gives the rival company a competitive advantage. In my opinion, however, to realize its full advantage data needs to be shared freely, otherwise, it only benefits its keepers. To put it another way, shared information in those fields will be stepping-stones to innovations. Therefore, the information should not be constrained if there is no security concern. In conclusion, both points of view have their merits. However, I am of the opinion that information sharing ought not to be restricted, unless there are overriding security risks.