In some countries, the widespread use of the internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home or traveling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

After the pandemic in 2020, there is a debated topic about the positive and negative aspects of working or studying on-site or remotely. I personally believe that the benefits of having a flexible workplace are more than the drawbacks. I will elaborate on my opinions. On the one hand, remote work has some benefits for a variety of people like those who have disabilities. If a worker cannot go to the office, it is better for them to do their work from home. Encouraging the different types of work, such as on-site and off-site, could really decrease or even eliminate inequality in job opportunities for disabled people and other workers.The annual bulletin of the National Bureau of Statistics revealed that the disparities between normal people and the disabled in finding jobs decreased dramatically from 66% in 2019, the year before the pandemic, to 44% in 2022. Moreover, some people, regardless of job and income level, prefer working outside the office. They tend to work in unofficial situations and be convenient when they work. For instance, language developers in computer companies would like to drink their coffee and do responsibilities in Starbucks, far away from any official work routine in the office. In addition, some talented students prefer studying at home instead of going to school every day and wasting their priceless time. Thus different groups take advantage of working in their desired conditions. However, different work types have some possible disadvantages like destroying organization rules and collaboration between colleagues. In the past decade, workers should adhere to the organization's rules, instructions and laws. They had to go to work at a certain time and had limited break time in a day. In addition, they were not allowed to leave the office unless they got permission from their superior. What’s more, flexible working conditions are seriously detrimental to collaboration and teamwork in organizations. In the new era of working, there is no collaboration and helping among colleagues and they should work solely at home or any place. As a result, this situation could lower the quality of work and increase the maintenance of the organization. In conclusion, due to the increase in equal working opportunities for different people and preparing convenient places to work, depending on their comfort, I think that the advantages of working or studying in different situations outweigh the disadvantages.