Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

There is no doubt that illiteracy is a great concern, especially in low-income countries where people are most at risk. There are several reasons for this, and a number of damaging effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the major factor is having parents who are illiterate. When parents are illiterate, they usually do not give a considerable concern on their children’s education; hence it has accelerated the rise of illiteracy levels. The second key cause is a child labour. Many children in underdeveloped countries (such as South Sudan, Niger, Mali, etc.) skip education, and try to get a job so that they help in fending for their families. A third factor is a social or cultural priority. In some nations, especially in term of Islamic religion, boys are allowed to go to school, but girls remain at home. We can see this clearly in Pakistan where the Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan had banned girls from attending school. The effects on the unfortunate victims can be quite devastating. Firstly, those who are illiterate have a low self-esteem. Studies have proven that people who are educated have higher confidence levels compared to people with little or no education. The other main effect could be an increase in poverty levels. It means that the numbers of job-seekers substantially higher than less skilled jobs, which can lead to a reduction in wages, and consequent decline in standard of living. Overall, family education, youth employment, and some priorities seem to be the main causes, and they influence both individuals and the economy.