Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while other believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The subject of crime prevention, and the role of citizens is an interesting one. In my opinion, the primary responsibility for the safety of the citizens belongs to the government. However, people too should cooperate with the authorities to protect themselves. In the following passages, let us explore this subject further with relevant examples. Since time immemorial, one of the hallmarks of good governance was crime prevention. For example, people praised great monarchs like Chandra Gupta, Akbar, and Shivaji for keeping their domains free of crime, by active surveillance and by imposing hefty penalties. In the modern world, governments are scored by rating agencies for their ability to control crimes. All this is not without reason, as only they have the adequate resources and legal rights for policing and enforcing peace. Does that mean that the ordinary citizen should be carefree? No. Definitely not! A person should at least remember to always lock the doors. Besides, the police always notify the safety measures each person should take, for example, using burglar alarms, avoiding dark streets or seedy areas or carrying non-lethal pepper sprays. As responsible citizens, everyone should follow those guidelines and protect themselves. In conclusion, the prevention of crime should be a harmonious and coordinated activity between the government and the people. Those who think that safety is the sole responsibility of the government, or of the individuals, respectively, are wrong, and I believe that both these arms should join hands to ensure peace and safety.