In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

The current generation accesses everything online, such as electronic journals or e-books. Therefore, some believe that no one will pay to get printed newspapers or publications in the future. I disagree with this view for two main reasons in terms of restriction of usage of digital data for some groups and personal preference. Even though reading online provides dozens of conveniences, such as no restriction to the physical location, affordability. However, reading materials online can be sometimes challenging for certain groups including kids and seniors. Firstly, children under twelve years old should limit their time using electronic devices because the longer time looking at screens the better chance of getting a bad version and shorter attention span. Similarly, older generations also find it hard to scroll on the screen to read owing to their old reading habits of physical books and technology literacy as some gadgets are not user-friendly. First of all, most online reading material will never be free in the future, especially the popular and valuable ones. Although producing e-books does not need to cut forests and print machines, everyone does not possibly have free access to online newspapers or books since the value of the material mainly lies in its contents. Furthermore, our legislation will be more well-rounded, covering copyrights and patents, so publishers, dealers, and readers have to show more respect to the originality. It is reasonable for authors and reporters to gain decent profits from their works. Last but not least, an e-reader like kindle or scrolling online cannot fully present the content of a book. That is because a beautifully designed cover and quality paper could only be appreciated by holding a book in hand, providing a better reading experience for book lovers. Many passionate readers are willing to purchase a collection of a special version of particular novels. Thus, there are still a group of fervent fans of reading or collecting paper books or newspapers from now to the future. In conclusion, most readers still need to afford the online books’ and newspapers’ content rather than get them freely. That is because knowledge and opinions’ value with its copyrights will be paid more attention by the public. Paper books’ fine design is also worth paying for appreciation and collection.