A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that economic and social status are the factors to value an individual's worth today, and honour, compassion, belief, tend to be classified as old fashioned values and are no longer essential in assessing someone else worth. However, I strongly disagree with the statement because well-being and self-respect are the long-lasting aspects that all human being needs to have. First of all, I believe that kindness and compassion are more valuable than money or reputation. In other words, being kind to others has no limit of time or value while money or popularity can be gone at any time. Even when a star dies, what people tend to remember is not how famous or rich she was but her kindness and compassion. Moreover, what defines civilization in the present-day's world is not social or economical status but more to the behaviour of individuals. Besides, I also believe what makes us different from any other animals are our well-being, dignity, and compassion. Therefore, these aspects are more crucial than any material possessions are there. Secondly, self-respect and trust are other great keys to valuing someone's worth. Because life is to experience, and that is what makes us honourable and trustworthy beings. My point is, in order to gain respect and trust, the individual needs to undergo lots of struggle and difficulty that could carry on their entire life which is incompatible with material possessions such as money or recognition which can be gained and disappear at any time. For example, Nelson Mandela was a person that we still remember today because of his contribution and honour towards human rights to fight racism. Thus, I believe honour and trust are irreplaceable compared to any person's wealth. In conclusion, although it might sound old-fashioned to judge someone's accordance with their kindness, honour, and trust, I strongly disagree that those aspects are no longer essential in today's era which some people believe could be replaced by an individual's wealth and reputation.