Some people view teenager conflicts with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whist others see it something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Almost all parents who have teenagers complain that their children have become unruly and disruptive. Likewise, their children too complain that their parents do not care for their feelings. This has become a commonplace occurrence in society. In my view, these conflict between teenagers and their parents is a normal part of life, and elders should tactfully guide their wards out of these conflicts. Adolescence is the coming of age of a person. During this period, this person tries to assert his opinions after being submissive for a long time as a child. He is also now flooded with hormones that fuel his attitude to assert himself. Parents also are taken unawares at this rebellious attitude, after seeing their children behave nicely in their younger years. Earlier, due to cultural bindings, most of the teenagers were beaten down and again forced into submission. But, over time, parents have become accommodative and friendly. Hence, now at least the young adolescents get to openly express their protest. Though some people feel that bringing conflicts in the open is embarrassing and negative, they cannot be further from the truth. By disallowing the youth from expressing his opinion, and trying to paper over the core conflict, these people breed resentment in the youth. Later on, this resentment manifests itself in drugs, drinks and crime. I conclude with my candid opinion that parents should openly discuss with their teenagers, any issues that bother them, and should try to resolve them in a humane way. It is heartening to know that most parents nowadays accept the rebellious attitude of their wards, and are not ashamed of it. Thus, society has grown up to meet the needs of the youngsters and not suppress them.