The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the introduction of the Internet, human communication has been influenced in various ways as many individuals can connect via social media platforms. While some people believe that the use of applications such as Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp has made communication easier, others argue that this development has compromised the quality of time spent with friends and family because everyone is on their phone. To begin with, connecting with family members has been enhanced. Moreover, business meetings can be held online nowadays. For instance, our previous monthly Nurses’ meeting was conducted via Teams making it convenient and easy for everyone to attend, even those on leave. Another classic example is when my brother called us via a WhatsApp video call since he relocated to the Netherlands. Therefore, the Internet not only saves time but also provides a platform for reunion. However, with the increased use of smartphones and computers, many people are consuming a great deal of time browsing. This has hampered the sense of quality family moments because folks have less time to interact unlike in the past. For instance, my sister’s kids spend nearly their whole free time during weekends watching cartoons on their tablets. In turn, this hinders them from interacting with other kids in the residence thereby affecting their social network at such a tender age. In conclusion, the Internet has played a vital role in communication helping families to connect and businesses to operate as usual. Despite the few demerits it causes, I believe that its upsides are far more than its disadvantages.