People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The average life expectancy has shot up from 26 years at the turn of the century to 74 years today. Hence, there is an obvious demand to increase the retirement age limit, so that experienced people can continue working. I do not fully agree with this demand and in the following paragraphs, I will justify my views. Firstly, there is a good case for senior but otherwise healthy people to continue working. Thus, they will contribute to the economy and not be a burden. Also, the relative worth of an experienced employee is very high for any company and this collective wisdom is very important for the company's growth. But, there is a cost for this experience. Most of the senior people hold the higher rungs of leadership, and thus young, enthusiastic leaders do not get promoted in time. This breeds resentment in the organization. For instance, 'young Turks, of the Indian National Congress broke away to form a separate party, as they were not allowed leadership roles. Secondly, aged people become risk-averse. Hence, these seniors do not take bold decisions which are needed for companies to survive in a dynamic world with cut-throat competition. For example, the Tata group of companies was slowly stagnating away due to primitive management policies. A young Ratan Tata took over and steered a new course of success for the company. To summarize, we need to exploit the wisdom of the elders and at the same time give opportunity to the youngsters. In my humble opinion, the best way forward is to form consultative bodies of seniors and executive bodies of juniors.