Some People believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Human civilization has come far from the days where we had chronic shortages of food, clothes and other basic neccessities. Thanks to technological advances and worldwide commerce, today, we have a wide variety of choices for anything we want- food, clothes, cars, houses, jewellery etc. Some people say that these excessive choices are vulgar. But, I feel that having a wide variety to choose from, is good and is an indication of growth. In the following paragraphs, I will qualify my viewpoint with facts and figures. Firstly, having a wide range of items is good both for the supplier as well as the consumer. No two people like the same thing. For example, some people prefer tea over coffee, and others prefer gin over whisky. The most prominent example of divergent choices is in the world of fashion. Some ladies may prefer pants while others may prefer skirts and while still others may prefer gowns. Today, all these ladies can wear the attire of their choice. Along with these ladies, their tailors gain a lot too. Thus, the one who makes skirts can coexist with the one who makes gowns. Secondly, a lot of creativity is fostered in the search to provide variety to the consumer. Everywhere, we are finding successful entrepreneurs coming up with novel ideas to win hearts and wallets. For example, the food delivery services like Swiggy and Zomato or cab-hailing services like Ola and Uber. Thus, in conclusion, I believe that I have presented convincing evidence of the importance of availability of choice for the consumer and the freedom to choose from it. There may be wastages involved in this process, but the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages.