Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that high schools should include unpaid community services in the curriculum. However, others argue that it doesn't have to be that way. In my opinion, high school students should participate in volunteer activities to improve their soft skills and social knowledge. The following essay will analyze, discuss, and draw reasonable conclusions. Life skills are very important for a person. By doing volunteer work, students can develop skills such as teamwork, learning to communicate with others, being creative and self-disciplined,... Students will get to know each other, make connections with friends, expand relationships, and become more well-known, respected, and appreciated. The abilities gained through such activities can also be included in their CVs, improving their chances of being employed in the future. In addition, during times of solitude, watching TV, surfing the internet, or playing unhealthy video games, children can join non-profit clubs. If students have activities to do, they will not think of silly ideas that endanger themselves and their surroundings, reducing juvenile crime rates. This will lead to a healthier and more meaningful life balance. Moreover, helping those less fortunate than ourselves will teach us to empathize, know how to care, and bring the warmth of life to them. Doing charity will help young people see what they have and appreciate their health and happiness more. At that time, children see that life is not inherently rosy, they have less aversion to the world, demonstrate kindness, and care for others. However, the fact that students today have so many subjects to study in a limited time period cannot be ignored, and that becomes all the more difficult in the case of mandatory community programs. This can make their academic performance worse. Nevertheless, I think young people can balance studying and volunteering and still be able to achieve high academic results. In conclusion, teenagers should engage in unpaid work as part of their schooling because the benefits they generate are numerous.