Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people advocate that in order to control the number of crimes, prisoners should be locked up in prisons for a long period, others tend to think out of the box and find more effective ways to avoid the prisons being completely filled. I agree with the latter opinion and I will explain why in this essay. On the one hand, there is no doubt that prisons ' main idea is to keep harmful people away from citizens in order to have a safer community. For example, people who would kill in a cold-blooded manner should definitely be put away for as many years as possible. The reason for their behaviour could be damage to their brain's chemicals and other psychological issues that would deeply affect their behaviour unconsciously. Thus, the longer they are held in prison the safer the cities would be. On the other hand, Not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances, so I would strongly recommend introducing more creative and effective ways for punishing the prisoners. For instance, crimes like speeding or stealing food from shops should not be dealt with same as the murder crimes, also both prisoners should not be merged together in the same place. Crimes that could be categorized under carelessness behaviour are amendable most of the time. Rehabilitation workshops and discovering or fixing the deep causes of the prisoners ' behaviours would fasten the way of building a higher self-controlling personality. In conclusion, Sending offenders to prisons is inevitable. Sever crimes like murder and rape should not be treated as cheating or breaking the traffic light. The more effective we address the root causes, the greater the impact would be on having a safer place for us and our kids to live in.