In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that, in the future, public vehicles such as cars, buses, and trucks, will be autonomous. There will be only passengers inside but no driver. From my point of view, I would say that the advantages produced by driverless vehicles far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are numerous negative effects of having autonomous cars in use. One of the impacts that will be discussed in this paragraph is that it can increase the unemployment rate in the country. To exemplify this with a similar case dealing with technology, there is already an abundance of robot servers in use in some restaurants, which made some workers lose their jobs as there is no position left to be recruited. However, I still do with the idea of the driverless car as I think this problem can be avoided by letting people reskill and get to work in other sectors. On the other hand, on the positive side, autonomous cars can help businesses like car companies to reduce their expenses in hiring manual labour. With these cars, the companies are no longer need to employ a driver. For instance, one of the Thai bus companies is now paying more than 1,000,000 baht a month in hiring buses’ drivers all over Bangkok. Try to imagine, how much of the expenses will be eliminated when replacing these employments with developed technology. Moreover, the public is often noticed by the news reporting an aggressive driver being so rude to the passengers when they are not in their mood, meaning that humans are sometimes not efficient enough and use their feelings to control how they act in an inappropriate way. However, this problem will disappear if humans are replaced with autonomous vehicles. Therefore, I strongly believe that driverless transportation should be in use in the near future if possible. In conclusion, although there is a disadvantage of self-driving cars like employment losses, the positive impacts are still clearly outweighing the negative ones as this kind of vehicle can gain a variety of benefits to both businesses and society.