In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

Land vehicles such as automobiles, trucks, and buses likely serve travellers without any operator at a future date. In my opinion, even autonomous transportation could have some drawbacks, such as job losses; their benefits will overshadow those. Driverless cars can help decrease the number of traffic accidents. Most disasters happen because of users' faults since they do not follow the rules correctly. Even if drivers obey all laws, there is a considerable possibility that careless pedestrians or animals could cause dangerous situations; therefore, drivers have to have strong reflexes to give immediate answers in these circumstances. Since the new technologies allow self-driving cars to react quickly and calmly in panic moments, they can help humans survive in such dangerous moments. To illustrate, Toyota proves that their newest car with AI can do manoeuvers 250% faster than a human driver, claiming that it can decrease accidents involving death by at least 50%. On the other hand, similarly to the previous technological improvements, advanced vehicle technology will also affect the people who work in the transportation services. Taxi, truck and bus drivers or delivery couriers could lose their jobs to this technology; likewise, the invention of motor vehicles erased horse-car riding. Nevertheless, workers can reskill and work in another industry since new technologies arise every day, some job sectors are expected to die, and new ones are born. In conclusion, although driverless vehicles will affect some job sectors unfavourably, they will prevent the passive amount of accidents besides declining the mortality rate related to human behaviour in the traffic. Hence, preparing for problems new technology will create is a mandatory obligation for governments as well as individuals.