Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Gone are those days when the government was able to control the unbridled increasing demand for gasoline and oil with the presently available resources within urban areas. These days, it becomes a necessity to start exploring new oil and gas resources in rural and unexplored regions as the merits of this approach undoubtedly outnumber the demerits. First of all, it is witnessed that the world population is growing at an exponential pace at present which has been playing a key role in the consistently increasing need for minerals. As a result, the available resources to support gas and oil demand are on the decline. Thus, finding new mineral locations in remote and untouched areas can not only provide an additional quantity of minerals but also create development opportunities in those areas. Secondly, even though many environment lovers do not like this approach and opine that this may damage green areas and biodiversity in remote locations, the 2022 report of the Canada Research Insititute has witnessed that there are a plethora of open spaces near small towns which can be a great source of gas and oil and having less adverse impacts on environment and animals. Thus, instead of limiting the demand, installing minerals extracting factories on these types of vacant lands can support the requirements of increasing population without damaging our climate conditions. Lastly, new ways of finding the relevant places and building extracting companies can create employment facilities for locals, especially in rural areas where there are limited income generation options. For example, despite the opinion of some people that there will be no difference left between rural areas and urban areas owing to this trend, more jobs options can also create new infrastructure needs in these rural areas such as hospitals and schools which can provide additional benefits to the residents of remote regions. To conclude, in spite of opposition from environmental supporters, the advantages of looking for new lands to extract gasoline and petroleum minerals in remote and untouched areas outweigh the disadvantages.