Many supermarkets sell more and more imported food products than ones produced in their home country. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, supermarkets sell both local and international food products. However, imported products can be found more extensively in the markets compared to local ones. This essay will discuss the positive aspects of selling more imported food products, in addition to its probable drawbacks. Firstly, offering international food products may have some benefits compared to the local ones., such as higher quality or providing sufficient food for the population. To put it more simply, imported food products usually should pass some qualifications, which are not considered for country-made food. This may result in the higher quality of non-local food products. For example, imported vegetables and fruits are examined in some criteria, including poison and nutrients, which should meet the standards. Hence, by selling more foreign products, citizens would have the chance of consuming healthier food. Moreover, the number of crops or meat that are harvested in a country might be inadequate, so the authorities ought to import them from other countries to prevent the country from lack of food. On the other hand, importing a great number of food products may have detrimental effects on local finance. To illustrate, residents would tend to buy imported products due to the quality or more appealing appearance, which leads to a decrease in local cultivation. This may cause the unemployment of local farmers. For instance, in a village that is rich in apples, foreign apples should not be sold. Since a significant proportion of residents’ income is from selling fruits. To conclude, providing supermarkets with foreign food products more than home-town made may be beneficial due to being qualified. Although, it is probably harmful to some citizens’ financial situation.