Some people say that we must send our parents to old age home when they reach 60. However other think that they must be taken care at home. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern times, people have to live in congested urban areas and have jobs with long hours and low wages. Hence it is difficult for many people to host their elderly parents at home and take care of them. Old age homes, with adequate nursing and messing facilities and affordable fees are a possible solution to this issue. In the following paragraphs, I shall examine both views with adequate examples and present my opinion. At the outset, elderly people need punctual care and companionship, and in today's busy world it is impossible for most children to provide that. For example, working hours in China are 12 hours a day, 6 days a week. Even in European countries, unorganized labour has to work long hours. Hence it is very difficult for working couples to find time to monitor their parents or provide medicines on time. Modern old age homes are providing excellent medical facilities to the senior citizens and the added benefit is that they can mingle with people of their own age. However, before children send their parents to an old age home, they should do a thorough background check and verify the quality of services provided. In most European countries, there are strict regulations guiding the services provided by these homes. Also, the parents need to be reassured that ultimately they will benefit from this move. In the past, there have been cases in the United States where senior citizens were duped by some of these homes. Thus sending one's parents to an old age home is a personal decision. In my opinion, if a family feels that they lack the time and resources to take care of their parents then they should move them to a good facility rather than keep them in dilapitaded conditions.