Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the education field, many students try to do their best in studies. It is argued by few people that children who get the topmost grades in their academics should be awarded. However, there are others who believe that students who show better results are the ones that should be recognized. In my opinion, the latter should be given more emphasis so that they continue to progress in future. On the one hand, some community ascertains that toppers are the ones who work hard to study. It seems that because these children are always driven to be at the number one position, they should be given medals or certificates for their hard work. For instance, a child who ranks first in class dedicates his entire time to studies in order to achieve that result. I totally disagree with this view because an intelligent boy or a girl always finds it easy to understand the concepts of learning. These children manage to achieve first rank because of their diligent nature and smart thinking whereas other students find it very difficult. On the other hand, a child who performs better than his or her previous results should be appreciated in order to encourage them. Even thould these students do not achieve higher scores, they must be rewarded because performing better than before is harder for them. Furthermore, they will feel motivated and they will try to keep progressing in their academic studies. For instance, the schools in London organise an annual award function for students who show good progress in their class and it is said that because these children are rewarded, they not only excel at academics but also in their career. In short, a little motivation and push can help them achieve good results. To conclude, I believe that students who struggle with their studies should be appreciated. Although the hard work of the student who tops must also be recognised, we must always push the ones who show great developments to keep them going. By doing so, not only the topper but also the average or poor students will feel a sense of encouragement to perform well in studies.