Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era of industrialization, fluency in a foreign language has become more essential than ever before. It helps people a lot in work as well as in daily life. It is assumed by some experts that learning a second language at elementary school is superior to at middle school for children. This trend does bring about some drawbacks; nevertheless, this essay would argue that these are outstripped by the advantages. There are several negatives of allowing children to learn another language early, and one of them is the child’s confusion when communicating with people around them. For example, the children who are allowed to practice learning another language apart from their mother tongue early will be embarrassed when having conversations in their home or their daily activities due to the complication of thinking between two languages simultaneously. As a result, they tend to have difficulties expressing some words. On the other hand, acquisition a foreign language at a young age is easier and needs less time than learning at an old age. As children could mimic pronunciation with no shyness and talk freely without fear of making mistakes. It not only helps them have a good accent but also gives them confidence when talking to a foreigner. Moreover, learning a new language improves cognitive skills, which assist the development of a child’s brain. Thus, bilingual children may tend to solve a situation more sensitively than other children. In conclusion, while letting children learn a new language early is detrimental to a certain extent, its positives outweigh any of its supposed negatives.