Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Language is not only a tool for communication, but also the cornerstone of culture. Due to globalization, many local dialects are in the danger of extinction. It is essential that governments step in to save these priceless gems of culture from being erased from society. Despite reservations from some quarters, I believe that academia and administration should collaborate to save the languages and meticulously document it. In the following paragraphs, I will examine the situation and buttress with necessary examples. A diversity of languages and cultures is the hallmark of mature civilizations. All great civilizations like the ancient Indians, Mesopotamians, Egyptians - all encouraged diverse languages and traditions. Later, narrow-minded imperialists and fanatics put an end to this by enforcing their language of choice. For instance, the Han majority in China trampled upon the Tibetans to end their language and culture. All these local languages have priceless wisdom and history entombed in them, and consequently, these need to be preserved and fostered. Many in the academia have realized this and are toiling hard to restore the local languages. Nevertheless, some people obstinately try to impose a single language in the name of globalization and cultural imperialism and the attendant loss is huge. For example, because the native Red Indians preserved their sign language, the US Army could use their tongue to design an unbreakable code language. Had it been lost, it would have imperiled the US Army. In conclusion, we have examined the need for local languages to be preserved and the unnecessary opposition to it. I hereby humbly recommend the necessity for preserving local dialects and hope for a better future.