Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is no doubt that adolescence can be a difficult period for both youngsters and their parents. Although some people believe that conflict at this time does more harm than good, I would argue otherwise, the reason being it would play an essential role in turning them into mature. At present, the majority of millennials'' are preferring to be self-employed than being employed in an organization. This can be mainly attributed to peer pressure. For instance, the employees' skillset is being judged based on the performance of their co-employees. In addition to that, they feel their stern hard work goes unnoticed which in turn leads to job dissatisfaction. These are the major reasons that instigate them to be their own employer. Even though they opt to be self-employed there are certain drawbacks associated with it. Firstly, the skill level of the employee will not be up to the market standard. This is because, when they kick off their careers as untrained professionals, it invariably affects their productivity in the long run. For example, If a blunder is made and unfortunately they aren't equipped enough to handle it, then the whole outcome will result in a disaster and their confidence takes a dent. Secondly, they are not exposed to the professional work culture that a company would provide. As a result, work-life balance will take a hit which can easily affect their personal life. For instance, employers' have prefixed job timings between 9 PM to 5 PM, which comfortably allows the employees' to take care of their personal lives after the working session. In conclusion, people feel less burdened when they turn out to be their own employer, and also when such a thing happens then there are major potholes that employees would encounter.