In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

International tourism has increased by leaps and bounds due to liberal visa schemes, cheap airfares and massive promotion of destinations by travel channels and tour operators. Will people choose to visit local tourist spots rather than abroad? Doubtful, in my opinion. I believe that the trend for international travel will increase and in the following paragraphs, I will explain my observations. Firstly, there are few countries like India, with a vast range of domestic geographical features and varied cultures so that the people's desire for novelty gets satisfied within the boundaries of the country. Consider, for example, a Bahranian, or a Sri Lankan. For how long will he keep travelling within his country? So, for citizens of countries with uniform geography and culture, there is not much to visit after a period of time. Secondly, everybody yearns to cross the shores and visit abroad to meet new people and places. Also, travel companies deliberately create packages to cater to the demands of the international traveller. For instance, a package to Thailand from India works out cheaper than visiting a local destination like Kerala. Thirdly, due to various trade agreements, most countries have realized that tourism is a safe and lucrative business and hence do a lot to attract foreign visitors, including novel categories as 'medical tourism'. In conclusion, global travel is here to stay and prosper and in my opinion, this is a welcome phenomenon.