Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Undeniably, industrialization has been having a great influence on people ’s lives. Among them, it affects the existence of ancient buildings. While some people believe the government should destroy or replace them with new modern buildings, I am in favour of the view that old buildings should be preserved for economic purposes and historical understanding. There are many reasons why some people think that old buildings need to be demolished. Firstly, the rapid growth of the population makes people not have enough land to live, so the removal of old buildings is a proposed solution. In addition, ancient buildings are also said to be less aesthetic when appearing on modern streets today. That’s why there is a view that those buildings should be removed. On the other hand, I strongly argue that old buildings should be maintained. The ancient architecture of a city is a priceless asset, a kind of symbol, a historical period that captures the cultural and spiritual wisdom of that city. The preservation of ancient architecture makes people able to expand their understanding of history, thereby making them more proud of their country. Secondly, the country ’s tourism industry develops thank to the people ’s love of discovery, especially foreigners, about history. These buildings attract tourists, therefore it creates a great source of income for the country. The above reasons have clearly confirmed the importance of preserving historical sites in the development of the country. In conclusion, while some people believe old buildings should be knocked down for the growth of the city, I am in the opinion that it is better to preserve them. Protecting the country ’s ancient buildings makes that country richer in culture and helps economic development. Therefore, the government should have the responsibility of paying attention to maintaining these ancient architecture.