Nowadays it is not only large company that can be able to make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The digital era has ushered in a quiet revolution for cinema because now, all we need are talents and good ideas. Earlier, the big production houses had clout over the movie screens. They would determine which movies will get how many screens and for how long. This meant that small-time producers and less influential but talented directors had little access to the audience. Thanks to the digital era, all this has changed and now we see an explosion of talent on OTT platforms and YouTube and other online content streaming channels. I think this is a very positive sign, and it will be here to stay. In the early days, movie -making needed the consolidation of sets and facilities for processing sound and videos. Enter the studios-these large commercial houses had all the infrastructure under one roof, and also solicited good directors, producers and actors. As long as there was competition between them, all was fine, but then these studios formed a syndicate and dictated terms to the rest of the industry. For instance, Sony Pictures would deal with Fox Studios for the number of screens and release timings for their movies, and everybody including theatre owners and patrons had to accept their decisions. Another issue was that these big production houses also had a coterie of actors and directors and they seldom allowed outside talents to make their mark. We are all aware of the struggles of gifted actors like Sushant Singh Rajput for gaining acceptance with these big production houses. This created a lot of consternation among the movie fans, and talented young actors and directors. Even though the government took a poor view of these studios and production houses, it could not help much. Then, as if by a stroke of luck, YouTube and other content streaming sites came up, and they were free from the clutches of the movie industry. These platforms promoted independent cinema, and because of their format, their subscription was reasonable too. The fans lapped up the quality content that began streaming and which continues to grow. Thanks to digital media, a lot of new talents were discovered and newer genres of movie making were explored. Slowly the advertisement sector realized the popularity of these outlets, and thanks to advertising revenue, all players were adequately reimbursed. For instance, who will not remember how small budget movies like 'Gangs of Wasseypur', became a runaway success. In conclusion, we have examined the problems that existed before the advent of digital media and how digital media has revolutionized the medium. Is digital media here to stay? Yes! For sure, digital media is alive and kicking and here to stay.