 Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With an attempt to raise commuters’ awareness of traffic crime’s detrimental repercussions comes the opinion that sentences act as the most effective deterrent. Nevertheless, many people support the implementation of other measures weighs more efficiently. Although both views appear reasonable, I honestly believe balancing in both methods is the best solution to approach road safety schemes. Those who argue for the primacy of harsh penalties indicate its cognitive impact on drivers. A well-known example of this would be imposing a myriad of strict policies such as heavy fines, the confiscation of driving licenses, or imprisonment, which directly affects offenders’ financial status and possession. It means civilians are likely to be discouraged from committing repeated offenses that put them at risk of apprehension. The result contributes to a healthier driving habit, including individuals’ higher discipline and rule adherence, and therefore fewer innocent lives suffer from traffic accidents. Despite the achievement gained from implementing strict punishments, it cannot remain its exclusive position. A compelling reason to support promoting other measures is to ensure road security further. Considering non-custodial sanctions and incarceration exacerbate recidivism, other steps are required to ensure further commuting safety. In simple words, approaches like redesigning roads or building roadside barriers from materials like flexible wire rope, which is more forgiving of driver mistakes, appear efficiently. An example is what Sweden calls 2+1 roads: two lanes one way and one the other, with the lanes swapping to allow overtaking in both directions. The introduction of these designs caused a drop of over 90% in deaths on the roads, which implies an acutely important position of road design in reducing traffic crime rates. In recapitulation, even though penalties enhancement set boundaries to traffic crime, it cannot disclaim the positive effect of other measures to reduce accidents. Thus, combining both strategies for future improvement in road security is necessary.