Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcylces are banned from city center. People are encouraged to use public transports such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweighs the disadvantages?

On vehicle-free days, citizens are motivated to practice public transportation, in order to reduce air pollution. There are certainly a plethora of benefits of using the metro and buses. In my opinion, the usefulness of buses is way more than its drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on the same in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, using government facilities for commuting saves time. In other words, the transport vehicles such as metro, have incredibly high speed than that of a private car. A person can reach his job in a shorter span of time by using a metro train. In addition to that, there is no need to search a parking place as far as public transportation is concerned. Resultantly an individual saves time. For instance, my cousin Karan, prefers to travel by metro in 'New Delhi', which makes him reach the office 30 minutes earlier than the private car. Secondly, using public trans[port, helps individuals save cash. Usually, buses and metros are cheaper than private vehicles. Moreover, capital spent on own car can be saved, if a person is encouraged to use public bus. The money saved can be utilized for emergency needs. To exemplify, my nephew Sunil, saves quite a handsome money monthly, by using a bus for commuting. The saved money, he uses to pay his mess bills. The disadvantage of using public transport is the lack of cleanliness and hygiene. However, people, with their appropriate behaviour such as throwing garbage in waste bins and not in a bus could help enhance the hygiene in public transports. To illustrate, in my city Nashik, the clean city campaign run by local authorities made public transport one of the cleanest transport among all means of transportation. In conclusion, even though lack of cleanliness is an issue, which demotivates the use of public transport, there are ample benefits like saving time and money, which are way more than the disadvantage. In my opinion, people should definitely use public transport because of its advantages.