In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, children are often given the message that as long as they work hard enough, they can accomplish anything. I believe the main downside of sending them this message is that it can be detrimental to their mental well-being, while the principal upside is that it helps them to become successful individuals. On the one hand, telling children that they can make anything happen through hard work can harm their mental health. They are too young to be mentally strong enough to face the failures they meet while chasing their goal. They may end up falling into self-doubt that in turn decreases their confidence. On the other hand, sending children the message that they can realize any of their dreams if they put in enough effort increases their chances of success in life. This is because the message makes them believe in their talents and abilities. Such self-assurance can motivate them to dedicate themselves to their goal. For example, when Michael Phelps was just 6 years old, his coach told him that he was very talented at swimming and as long as he trained hard, one day he would be standing on the Olympic podium. He believed his coach and practiced harder than any other swimmer out there. Eventually, he became the greatest Olympian of all time, winning a total of 23 Olympic gold medals in his career. In conclusion, while telling children anything is achievable as long as they are devoted enough is likely to affect their mental health, it helps them succeed in life.