Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the same products are available for purchase anywhere in the world, causing increasing similarities among countries. I believe this should be seen as a negative development for the entire world because it is making the world ’s cultures less diverse and could also be detrimental to the travel industry. The availability of the same products all over the world is leading to cultural loss since a product is part of a culture. For instance, fifty years ago, most Indian people wore clothing like saris and dhotis. However, the expansion of global brands such as Nike and Addidas into the Indian Market has led to a rise in the wearing of western-style clothing among young people. As traditional Indian clothing is being replaced by western fashions, some of the longstanding values of that country are being lost. In addition, countries becoming more alike could affect the tourism industry. Many people pay a visit to another place to experience something unique to that culture. For example, a survey shows that Thai cuisine is the feature of Thailand that is most attractive to international tourists. However, now authentic Thai restaurants can be found all over the world, which means people no longer need to fly to Thailand to have a taste of real Thai food. This could result in a decrease in the number of foreign visitors to that country. In conclusion, I believe it is a negative trend that countries are becoming less different. For one thing, it is threatening cultural diversity and, for another, it harms the tourism sector.