Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many schools give a lot of homework to children. Some people think that homework is not necessary to be given to the children, while others argue that it is urgent because by doing homework, students could learn more. This essay will discuss both views in detail and give my personal view about it. In my opinion, I support the school for giving homework because the children learn responsibility and hone their knowledge. At first, the children may feel fear of their teacher unless they finish their homework. They fear being punished by the teacher and ostracized by their friends, but there is research about growing responsibility in children by giving homework. Based on the research in America, the full grown children /adolescent children (13-19 years old) become responsible to their schools due to being consistent in doing the homework. They are also responsible to manage their time if they want to play after completing their work. Besides, by giving homework children might sharpen their knowledge because usually teachers tend to make different types of questions in homework compared to schoolwork. Therefore, giving homework has an urgent role to shape children ’s responsibility. On the other hand, people might argue that homework should not be given to the children because the children might become stressed and some students are not expert in homework subjects. The children might become stressed because they must spare their play time to finish the homework. When there is lots of homework given by school, some children might be unable to manage their time and become stressed. For instance the children have Math homework and Science homework, then tomorrow they have English homework, but they have not finished the previous homework. The inability to manage time to do homework will make children feel pressured and the children stress caused by the high tension. In addition, students might not be expert in some subjects at school but they are given that homework. For instance, a child loves sports such as basketball and swimming, but he/ she is unable to understand Math. Thus, parents think homework has an unimportant role because some students do not have expertise in all school subjects and they become stressed due to trouble in doing the homework. To conclude, there are pros and cons about giving homework to children. People argue that giving homework might bring more negative impact such as being stressed and not skillful in that subject than positive impact. In my view, by having homework children will learn more about responsibility and hone their knowledge. In the future, school hopefully may be customized in giving homework based on what students expert in.